Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    maddenPro Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Mar 16, 2009, 05:03 PM
    Forclosed home
    In the state of Michigan, my house sold at the sheriff sale on Oct 1 2008 back to the bank, what kind of notice am I going to get and how soon do I have to get out ,
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Mar 16, 2009, 05:22 PM

It was sold more than 5 months ago and you haven't been told to leave? Lucky you!

I suspect that what is happening is the bank is trying to sell the property and they are letting you live there to maintain it. As soon as they find a buyer you will be told to move.

Frankly, I wouldn't question it. They can't throw you out at a moments notice, you will be given a reasonable time to find new digs.
    crazybird Posts: 82, Reputation: 8

Mar 16, 2009, 05:37 PM

Call the sherriffs office. Find out when you must leave. I do not know how the laws differ from state to state. I am not an expert. Ask if the sherriffs office will help you move. In my state they help move you for free the day that you must be out of your home. But you may want to tip these movers so they do a better job. They may or may not want to place your belongings and boxes in their proper places in your next abode. But if money is tight you won't have to pay for movers.

Mar 16, 2009, 05:46 PM

ScottGem,
    You are not an expert so why did you leave me a negative rating without having the facts? That was very low of you. For your information. I AM CORRECT. WENT THROUGH THIS AND HAVE FIRST HAND KNOWLEDGE AND EXPERIENCE REGARDING THE SHERRIFF OFFICE MOVING PEOPLE. I told the OP to check it out. The only thing I am not sure of is if they do this in his state. I am from NJ.

Mar 16, 2009, 05:46 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by crazybird View Post
    In my state they help move you for free the day that you must be out of your home.