Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    write2sck Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 29, 2006, 10:59 AM
    H1B consular notification & SS tax
    I am currently on OPT and have a H1 approved. Since I was in India (for a month after I did my masters from a US university) when the petition was filed, the lawyers filed for a consular notification and without change of status. Does that mean I would need to start paying SS and medicare taxes starting 10/01?
    Or will I start paying those taxes only when I get a H1B from a US consulate?

Thanks..
    LUNAGODDESS Posts: 467, Reputation: 40

Aug 29, 2006, 11:19 AM
    I have include the website where the information was collected hope this information will help you...

The Economic Times
    Tuesday, September 30, 2003| Updated at 21:36 hrs IST

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/...500046&sType=1

H1-B visa holders may not have to pay social security tax soon
    JAMES MATHEW & KRISHNA KANT

TIMES NEWS NETWORK[ FRIDAY, OCTOBER 18, 2002 12:55:44 AM ]
    NEW DELHI: There is good news for all those who are there in the US on a H1-B visa. India is close to signing the administrative protocol with the US on abolishing social security tax charged by the US administration on those H-1B visa holders.

The administrative protocol is the first step towards India being able to sign the final agreement with the US government on the withdrawal of the tax on large number of Indians, estimated to be about 60,000 to 70,000 at any point of time, on short-term employment visas in the United States.

The waiver on the tax-charged currently at the rate of 17% to 21.5% of their total salaries-could result in savings of billions of dollars annually. A person has to work for at least 10 years in the US to take full benefits from his social security taxes. H1-B visa on the other hand is for a maximum period of six years.