Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    venedig00 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Mar 12, 2009, 09:09 AM
    I am a small business owner and I am being sued
    I own a small antique car dealership in Florida. We sell cars from the 50s and 60s over the internet. Last year I bought a 1959 project car and it has been restored by my mechanic and some other contracted labor. In July 2008, I sold the car to a customer in New Jersey. I exposes 24 photos on e-bay and described the car to the best of my knowledge. The car was driven to the flat bed in order to be transported to New Jersey. Upon arriving, the guy in New Jersey said that the car was not running, and he wanted to give the car back. He paid 21,900 for the car plus 1,000 in shipping. He wanted his whole money back car+ shipping. Like I said, I described the car to the best of my knowledge, all what I said in the description is true. I didn't say that the restoration was number 1 or 2 or Pebble Beach. I only advertised as a restored car in good running condition. Certainly I sold the car in AS IS condition and on my ad I encourage all potential customers to inspect the car before bidding. Moreover, I point out that it is the responsibility of the buyer to satisfy himself or herself about the condition of the car before bidding... etc. Anyway, now the lawyer from this guy is suing me for almost 28,000 because he wants to give the car back and he had in the meantime repair bills. What can I do? I am exhausted...
    Thanks
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Mar 12, 2009, 11:20 AM

Now that it's in suit you have no choice but to retain an Attorney and take the Attorney's advice. If you do nothing a default Judgment will be granted against you.

You can either pay what he is asking or defend yourself.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Mar 12, 2009, 12:01 PM

And part of the issue if the car was not "running" when he received it, then there is a advertising issue.