Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Selwoc Posts: 8, Reputation: 2

Mar 10, 2009, 02:17 PM
    Ford Ranger noise .high pitched whine/hum
    Just bought my first Ranger today. A 2006 2WD XLT Automatic 5-speed with overdrive and cruise control. Has under 19 K miles. Looks spanking brand new; not a scratch or dent and beautifully detailed. However... ( ! ), I notice a high pitched whine or hum at hiway speed (well, above 30 mph) which disappears when I take my foot off the accelerator. At first, I thought it was tire tread noise until I let it 'coast' a bit. (Noise disappears when coasting, returns when I put foot back on the gas).
    Ideas what to look for?. Does not seem to be on only one side, either front or back... just "underneath somewhere". Am I just being picky? Is this sort of noise normal for this vehicle? I am a newbie with pickup trucks.
    CaptainRich Posts: 4,492, Reputation: 537
    Cars & Trucks Expert

Mar 11, 2009, 07:24 AM

That sounds distinctly like rear differential whine.
    First thing you should do is have the axle fluid level checked.
    If the fluid is low, find out where it's going. If it leaks out the axle seal and gets onto the brake linings, you're in for more problems quickly.
    If the fluid level in NOT low, then the diff and or bearking need attention.

Get the fluid level checked and let us know.

Mar 11, 2009, 07:44 AM
    Thanks, Captain Rich. I shall get on this and see what the fluid level is and have them check the seal, etc. I suspected it might be something like that. I'll get back with what I find out. Fortunately, there is a warranty on the power train :)

Mar 13, 2009, 08:09 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by CaptainRich View Post
    That sounds distinctly like rear differential whine.
    First thing you should do is have the axle fluid level checked.
    If the fluid is low, find out where it's going. If it leaks out the axle seal and gets onto the brake linings, you're in for more problems quickly.