01/2003 - 12/2003 -- F1 Visa full time student
    01/2004 - 12/2004 -- F1 Visa full time student
    01/2005 - 12/2005 -- F1 Visa full time student
    01/2006 - 12/2006 -- F1 Visa full time student

01/2007 - 08/2007 -- F1 visa with opt / didn't use opt

08/2007 - 12/2007 -- F1 Visa full time student
    01/2008 - 12/2008 -- F1 Visa full time student

01/2009 - Present -- F1 visa with opt / haven't use opt

All of those years from 2002 to 2009(right now), I have been a full time student on F1 visa, but I have been living in Mexico and going to school at Texas, everyday. This means that I have been crossing to the US everyday with my student visa, do I still qualify to file resident tax 1040ez for the 2008 year?

Thanks!
    nhg Posts: 18, Reputation: 1

Mar 7, 2009, 12:38 PM

Anyone?
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Mar 7, 2009, 12:50 PM

No when you come to U.S. and go back to Mexico, this does not count as days in U.S. So you will file nonresident tax return.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 30, 2009, 11:03 AM
    Sorry, but this time, MuktA is not correct.

If you spend even part of the day in the U.S. on a F-1 visa, that one day uses up the entire year of your 5-year exemption. Your F-1 exemption expired on 31 December 2006.

For 2007, 2008 and 2009, you were a resident alien for tax purposes unless you are claiming a "closer connection" to Mexico, for which you must submit proof with your annual submission of Form 8843.
    IntlTax Posts: 831, Reputation: 23
    Tax Expert

May 1, 2009, 07:48 PM

The closer connection exception is only available if you spend less than 183 days in the U.S. If you spent more than 183 days in the U.S. you must rely on the "tie-breaker" provisions of the Mexico-U.S. Income Tax Treaty. Under those provisions you should not be treated as a resident of the U.S. However, you are supposed to include Form 8833 with the filing of your Form 1040NR.