Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Rebecca Clary Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 2, 2009, 11:45 AM
    Adobe 6.0 Pro - Can not open pdfs from the web
    We have NO technical support here where I work, and I'm relatively new to the organization. We have Adobe 6.0 pro (to create PDFs) and Adobe 7.0 Reader. When I try to open a PDF from the web, Adobe 6.0 will not open it and I get an error message. I've attached a pdf with the error string.

I would really like to be able to open these pdf's from the internet. Anyone have any ideas of how to fix this problem? I have administrative rights to my computer, and have tried to update and repair the program, to no avail.

Thanks in advance you technogeniuses!

Rebecca Clary
    [email protected]
    Attached Images
  1. File Type: pdf Adobe Acrobat 6.0 errors.pdf (26.5 KB, 182 views)
    Perito Posts: 3,139, Reputation: 150
    Ultra Member

Mar 2, 2009, 12:13 PM

Something is corrupted. I recommend reinstalling Adobe 6.0 from the original distribution disks. If that doesn't work, try completely uninstalling the program -- including the reader. Download CCleaner from

CCleaner - Home

(FileHippo.com is the faster download site)

Run the registry scan -- click on the "Registry" icon and click the "Scan for issues" button. Select all of the issues that it finds and click "Delete Selected Issues". Scan it again because sometimes fixing some problems will create other problems. Do this until you find no more problems (this will usually take no more than 3 total tries).

Once you've cleaned the registry, try reinstalling Adobe 6.0 pro. If that doesn't work, something in the operating system is undoubtedly corrupted and it may be difficult -- if not impossible -- to discover. The best solution in that case is to reinstall the operating system from scratch. Be sure and back up all of the data you wish to save before you reinstall Windows.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions