Ask
    KTOWERS3 Posts: 11, Reputation: 1

Feb 28, 2009, 01:42 PM
    Art: Photography or Not
    Why is photography not art
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Feb 28, 2009, 02:01 PM

Whoever told you that ? Of course it is. Catching light the right away on a subject. Recording color with the right film. Of course its art. Even black and white photos are artform because of light (and dark). Andy Warhol experimented and won international fame and a lot of money.

Artists record what they want to paint first of all with a photo, many photos in many different aspects so they can capture just what they want to convey.

I am an artist in stained glass, a certain light on a particular colour of glass and texture is very important to me. A client will have a particular window in mind for a panel, or a certain door in mind to capture a lighting.

Yes, I would say photography is an artform. I use a camera at times to record lighting.

Tick
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Feb 28, 2009, 02:12 PM

Hi, KTOWERS3!

Yes, as has already been mentioned, photography is an art. It's one of the visual arts. The more creative that one gets with their photography, the more artistic it becomes.

Why are you asking the question, please?

Thanks!
    Uber Member

Feb 28, 2009, 02:12 PM

Hi, KTOWERS3!

Yes, as has already been mentioned, photography is an art. It's one of the visual arts. The more creative that one gets with their photography, the more artistic it becomes.

Why are you asking the question, please?

Thanks!

Feb 28, 2009, 03:09 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by tickle View Post
    whoever told you that ? Of course it is. Catching light the right away on a subject. Recording color with the right film. Of course its art. Even black and white photos are artform because of light (and dark). Andy Warhol experimented and won international fame and a lot of money.