Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    vfranco05 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Feb 11, 2009, 03:21 PM
    Breach of Contract
    Hi, I have question to ask, I signed my lease for a certain amount, and I received a note saying that I owed money, when I went to go see what my note was about, they raised my rent and said they made a mistake on my original lease agreement, when I asked to see a copy of my lease agreement they drew a line over the original rent amount and put a new amount with the mangers initials. Can they do this, even though I signed my agreement with the original amount of rent?. help please :(
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member

Feb 11, 2009, 03:29 PM

No, the original amount you agreed to stands. How much of an increase did they try to request?

Feb 11, 2009, 03:39 PM
    40 bucks, I know it doesn't sound like much, but 805 is quite a bit for me... since I am a full time student and can only work so much you know
    Ultra Member

Feb 11, 2009, 03:43 PM

I would send them a letter stating that you have a signed lease agreement which states you will pay the original amount per month. A landlord needs to typically give a tenant 30 days notice before raising rent, although I don't believe it's allowed when a rental agreement is signed. I hope you didn't sign the new lease with the crossed-out amount on it..

Feb 11, 2009, 03:50 PM

No, I signed my lease with the original amount in December!.
    I'm trying to get as much information as I can so I can dispute them with facts and not so much with words and proof of receipts and how they don't even out... thanks for the information I really appreciate it!.
    Ultra Member

Feb 11, 2009, 04:00 PM

Which state is this in? Your state law may vary from the norm, but most states don't allow a landlord to just up the rent and claim they made a "mistake."

Feb 11, 2009, 04:26 PM