Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Wiser Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 6, 2009, 05:12 PM
    Hippa laws
    Is it a violation of hippa if a switchboard operator tells a customer that a manager is off due to surgery. I thought these laws were directed towards health care organizations.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Feb 6, 2009, 05:17 PM

It would be a violation, if she got that info as a result of a medical practitioner. So it depends on how she got the info.

It is however, not a very good move on her part.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Feb 6, 2009, 06:05 PM

I am primarily a Computer Expert, but I consider myself sort of a Renaissance Man and have a significant amount of knowledge and experience in a variety of areas.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Feb 7, 2009, 07:14 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Wiser View Post
    is it a violation of hippa if a switchboard operator tells a customer that a manager is off due to surgery. i thought these laws were directed towards health care organizations.
    Does the switchboard operator work at a hospital or doctor's office? If the answer to that question is no, then it is not a HIPAA violation.
    artlady Posts: 4,208, Reputation: 1477
    Ultra Member

Feb 7, 2009, 08:10 AM

I think if someone wanted to make a legal case out of it then perhaps they could.The operator should have been trained in certain protocols for these situations.There must be a manual at work that has the rules stated.

I am clearly no expert.I took a medical ethics class in preparation for being a physicians assistant.Not a legal opinion.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!