Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    GirlWSlingshot Posts: 224, Reputation: 21

Jan 29, 2009, 04:09 PM
    How to wean
    I've been breastfeeding for 16 months now and am considering weaning. My little one has no interest in nursing during the day but wakes up frequently to nurse at night. It's interrupting both of our sleep and he gets very possessive of his "Na Nas" in the evening, even if we're in public.

He's lactose intolerant but I've introduced lactose free whole milk in the last few months. He seems to have taken prettty well to it. I tried replacing his evening nursing session with a sippy cup of warm milk but he wakes up screaming every hour at night until I relent and give him "na nas" if I try to get away with that.

Any ideas on how to wean? I live alone with him so I can't try the old "send someone else to comfort him at night" switcheroo.
    DoulaLC Posts: 10,488, Reputation: 1952
    Uber Member

Jan 29, 2009, 08:07 PM

What works for some at that age is to tell him they are sleeping. He will understand a larger vocabulary than he can speak. If you are comfortable with the idea, you can also try alternatives for him to find comfort with... special cuddly toy, blanket, small pillow, etc.. There is also letting him fuss a bit... pat him, tell him it is time to sleep, go only as far as the door, whatever you are comfortable with. Take it slow... start with dropping one session for several days, then another, and so on. You may or may not want to keep the bedtime feed as it can be comforting for you both and is often the hardest to end.

It will take time and consistency on your part... and won't be easy, but it will get better.

Jan 30, 2009, 08:40 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by DoulaLC View Post