Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sovit Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Aug 6, 2006, 08:45 PM
    Plain view
    If a cop sees a gun in a car in plain view and have surrounded the car for 4 hour do they need to get a warrant? Or when the defendant exits the club can the cops detain him and take his keys and just open the car door and take the gun?
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Aug 7, 2006, 02:46 AM
    We need more info. In some states guns are OK in cars if they are in plain view... Was this person whose car was "surrounded" wanted for some other offense? I'm no legal expert but I'm certain that more info will help get the question answered.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Aug 7, 2006, 06:37 AM
    Hello again, sovit:

I'm sure the answer is within that 6 foot thick book about searches that I mentioned, so there's no specific answer at this point.

In most states, possessing a gun is not illegal. In most states, a gun discovered in plain view is not illegal.

Therefore, I believe there is more to the story than that. If you tell me the WHOLE story, I'll bet I can give you an answer that you can use. Maybe even get your boyfriend sprung.

excon

Aug 7, 2006, 08:22 AM