Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Orange2008 Posts: 63, Reputation: 5

Jan 29, 2009, 01:33 AM
    Landlord left items in garage for 60 days past start of lease!
    I am the landlord in OK. We moved out of the house and had a few remaining items in the garage. Honestly, due to the holidays (it was just before Thanksgiving), then Christmas, we just didn't get the remaining items out. I tried to email the tenant about another issue before Thanksgiving and got no response. I emailed the tenant a second time just before the new year and finally heard back. They had been "out of town for 2 wks and were very busy". The garage is about 600+ SF and according to my calculations (I'm an architect), we used approximately 22 SF of the garage. When we removed the items in January, I took pictures. The location of these items was in a corner & along one wall out of the way (and some go with the house - paint & trim). Both cars fit without incident and their bikes & a home gym also occupied the garage without any problem. But, this created a rift in the tenant/landlord relationship AFTER I was asking her when she was going to pay for furniture items she was to purchase from us.

She now has a list of complaints to go along with the above: Ceiling fan, pilot light on fireplace, washer & dishwasher.

1. Ceiling fan in kid's bedroom - never worked. Light works, but fan has never worked. We said we would look at doing something with it in the spring. When the tenant brought it up again, we said we would come & remove the fan (may have a short it in - fan not hooked to electrical) & replace with light we had in there before the we tried to install the fan. Ultimately, she wanted to leave the fan up. But, now is denying that.