Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bk39 Posts: 72, Reputation: 1

Jan 26, 2009, 08:02 PM
    Security for wireless router
    I am a novice with computers.
    I am getting a router because I am getting a new computer and keeping the old.
    Someone said I would need special security for the wireless router.
    What do I need to be safe?
    Scleros Posts: 2,165, Reputation: 262
    Hardware Expert

Jan 26, 2009, 09:14 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by bk39 View Post
    Someone said I would need special security for the wireless router.
    What do I need to be safe?
    There's nothing particularly special needed. All that is required is to properly configure the security features built into most wireless routers. Out of the box, wireless routers typically do not have any security features enabled. Consequently, anyone within wireless range of the router can connect to it, use your Internet connection, attempt to access any computers on your network, or eavesdrop on your computers' wireless transmissions. To prevent all of these undesirable occurrences, security features are enabled on the router so that only your computers can connect to it and once a connection has been made, it is encrypted so that eavesdropping is not possible.

The first security suite to be used was WEP - Wired Equivalent Privacy. This method is now considered insecure as there are freely available tools to hack WEP connections in a matter of minutes. The successor to WEP was WPA - Wi-Fi Protected Access which has since been succeeded by WPA2. The differences between the suites are the specific protocols and encryption methodologies and strengths used.