Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    brandolin411 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 24, 2009, 03:14 AM
    What do I need to learn to be a Web Designer?
    I have been doing graphic design for the last 7 years or so as a hobby and have made a little money off doing freelance work. All of this has been in print and production; however, I now want to explore new vistas and move on to the web.

I'm looking for a comprehensive list of how to go about being a designer (not necessarily a programmer or webmaster - I do want to create, organize, and design the look of the sites but I don't want to have to encode everything nor be in charge of the daily monitoring after they are launched). So what software I should buy, what classes I should take, what books I should read, what kind of experience I should try to obtain?

So far this is the info I have gathered and the actions steps I've taken:

1. I need to know basic HTML -- I've taken an online course on basic HTML through New Horizons Computer Center, and I'm reading a good handbook on it as well. I'm going to start practicing on my own browser this weekend.

2. I need to know Dreamweaver. -- I am taking a non-credit course on this at a local college.

3. I need to know Flash. -- Hoping to take another non-credit course on this next semester.

4. I just bought Adobe CS4 Master Collection. I had CS2 but never upgraded to CS3 so I just skipped 3 and went for 4. I already know Illustrator, InDesign, and PhotoShop pretty well, but my only experience of working between these programs and the internet has been saving my Illustrator files in a way that I could post them on Facebook. Aside from that I have zero knowledge of how these programs would interact with web design.

Beyond that, I'm kind of stumped as to where to go from here. What else might I be missing?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jan 24, 2009, 06:57 AM