Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Sethcran Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 12, 2009, 12:25 AM
    Which language to learn next?
    Just curious about some others opinions here.

I'm currently a Computer Science student looking to go into programming professionally. To be honest, I don't know exactly what I want to do with it. Game design and programming has always been especially fun but I haven't decided. I've recently been taking classes on C++ and feel like I have a fair grasp of the language at this point, but this is really the only language that my college focuses on.

I'd like to learn other languages, and eventually I intend to know quite a few, but I have to start somewhere. What languages should I concentrate on now for the sake of getting a job when I get out of school? What is going to be versatile enough to use in the many different jobs I may get, and what would otherwise benefit me the most in trying to find a job?

Thank you much!
    Scleros Posts: 2,165, Reputation: 262
    Hardware Expert

Jan 12, 2009, 12:47 AM
    Concentrate on C++. For second languages, having some familiarity with assembly language wouldn't hurt for gaming; for business processes, COBOL, Visual BASIC, or JAVA.
    Zurvan Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jan 31, 2009, 07:59 AM

Knowing a specific language after college isn't nearly as important as understanding programming. Good software companies that recruit grads don't care so much what languages you know, as that you have a wide range of experience and theory to back you up. They'll teach you the syntax of whatever language you need to know if they want you.