Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mm17 Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Jan 3, 2009, 08:37 PM
    How many W-4 allowances?
    Hello,
    I am a resident alien in the US for over 5 years now. My wife has been here 6 months and is a non-resident alien. Last year we filed "Married filing jointly". Single income, non-homeowner household.
    So far I have claimed "0" allowances on my W-4 and have received a refund on filing taxes. But I am done making interest free loans to the government and would like to know the right number of allowances to put on my 2009 W-4.
    I completed the worksheet on the W-4 tax form and the magic number (in row H) came up as "3". However, I am a bit leery of putting in that number since, I fear I may end up having to pay money with federal and state tax filings next year. At the same time I don't want to have too much money withheld from my paycheck.
    Can anyone please advise on what the right number should be for the specific legal tax statuses that my wife and I hold?

Thanks!

Jan 3, 2009, 08:39 PM

Oh, and I forgot to mention. Should I list myself as "Married" or "Single" since my spouse is a non-resident alien but we are filing taxes jointly?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 6, 2009, 06:02 PM
    Because you are a foreign national, presumably on a H-1 or H-1B visa, you are required by IRS regulation to claim SINGLE with NO MORE than ONE exemption.

This is done to ensure you pay your taxes before you return to your home country.

If you have a green card, then you can claim MARRIED with up to THREE exemptions.

Jan 9, 2009, 10:36 PM
    Thanks Atlanta Tax Expert, I do need some clarification.

In a forum post on Nov 6, 2008, you wrote