Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Trandy Posts: 123, Reputation: 9

Jan 2, 2009, 10:29 AM
    What would be a good name for new business?
    I am a machinist for a living.
    I began learning cnc programming about 6 years ago.
    This year, I started playing with artwork within my cad cam software.
    I made a couple of clocks, one of which was given to my boss for Christmas this year.

He was so highly impressed, that he wants to venture into a different sort of business which will incorporate my newfound hobby into the workplace.

We have been doing some research into versatile machinery. For a very small initial investment, we have found a laser engraver, and a cnc plasma torch to be the wisest investments.

The laser will enable us to cut a wide variety of materials with high precision. We will be able to offer things such as etching a person's name on their new barbecue utensils, or ink pen, and coupled with the plasma cutter, cutting a custom scene out of a 5'x10' sheet of steel to hang as a gate on someone's entry to their grand palace.

The type of laser etching machine we are looking into is usually found in a custom embroidery or monogram service. But they are capable of way more than simply monogramming someone's name. Though we will be offering this, I am really looking for things more creative.

What would be a good name for a company offering such unlimited capabilities?
    I want to attract as much custom design and artwork as I can, as well as little quick jobs such as selling lazed pens for pr guys to hand out etc... like you could get from a monogramming service.

Something like Panhandle Monogram and Custom Design??
    ITstudent2006 Posts: 2,243, Reputation: 329
    Networking Expert

Jan 2, 2009, 10:31 AM

To me the best name would invlove both the profession and your location. It's very informative in itself and people won't have to wonder where its and what you do?
    firmbeliever Posts: 2,919, Reputation: 463