Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    russgriffin Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Dec 31, 2008, 11:59 AM
    Connecting PC to TV
    Hi, this is my first try at this so here goes.I am trying to connect my Bush LCDTV009HD TV to my PC which is running vista. My graphics card is an NVIDIA GeForce 6600. When I start the system all seems to go OK then I loose the signal and the screen says no signal. When I start th PC in safe mode it is OK but then I can't change the settings. Any ideas.
    jcortez13 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jan 9, 2009, 07:10 PM

Odds are good the refresh rate is to high. Hook the PC to a normal monitor. Change the resolution to 640x480 at 60hz

Then when you hook it to your TV you can then adjust it to a resolution that fits the entire screen but keep the refresh at 60hz. My 720p TV likes 1366x768

In vista go to Control Panel -> Personalization -> Display Settings -> Advanced Settings -> Monitor Tab
    chaosmaster1 Posts: 294, Reputation: 12

Jan 13, 2009, 06:56 PM

Can you describe the connections on your 6600? Does it have: dvi, svideo, vga? If so unplug your standard monitor turn the PC on wait until you think it has booted up fully and then turn it off and plug in a svideo cable from the PC to the TV and turn it on then it should be good to go

By the way the3 way I have the same video card

Jan 14, 2009, 01:36 PM

Sorry for the delay will give it a try. Thanks.
    retsoksirhc Posts: 912, Reputation: 71

Jan 14, 2009, 01:40 PM

Let us know how it goes. I'm betting on jcortez's solution or similar. 640x480 might be too low ersolution for an HDTV though... 1024x768, 800x600, or 1280x1024 seem to be more common these days. If you want true HD, try 1920x1080. Not guarentted to work with your TV, but it IS the 1080 resolution, so if it's true HD and the card goes that high, it's worth a shot.

Jan 15, 2009, 01:23 PM