Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    handoferebus Posts: 38, Reputation: 4

Dec 18, 2008, 01:26 AM
    Have done poorly in college. Feel lost
    Hey guys, I fear this could get long. From the beginning: I graduated high school in 2004. I did quite poorly, and barely graduated... I was so preoccupied with other things in my life that I found myself too distracted to pay attention to school, and my high school education suffered because of poor decisions.

Right after high school, I went into a community college. I was there until the end of 2005, and had taken about 12 classes. My avg. GPA for those classes was around a 2.0. I realized that things in my life needed to change, and I needed to change. I decided to move away from home at the beginning of 2006, and started going to a new community college, about 4 hours from where I was living. I had great motivation around me, and I started doing well the first semester at my new JC. However, it is now 2008, and My avg. GPA at this JC after about another 12-14 classes is roughly 2.3. I don't know why I have such a hard time focusing on school, and keeping my motivation. I will have to take quite a few classes over, and some I can't repeat.

My desired degree is computer science, which I have a definite interest in, however I'm feeling as though I've put myself in an impossible situation to ever get into a university and get a degree. I'm currently working at a great company based on the experience I have. I'm 22, making about 50k a year as a user support/system admin for a large company, and there's definitely growth potential there.