Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Lance H Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 7, 2008, 12:30 AM
    Challenge of Teaching (in Relation to Entertainment)
    I am a teacher in a public high school, and it is the hardest thing I have ever attempted to do. I say "attempted" because on a day-to-day basis, I'm not entirely sure I'm doing what I need to do to get these kids ready for their life after graduation. The biggest obstacle I am up against is apathy-- they simply don't care. If it's not constantly "entertaining," they don't want any part of it. They put their head down, attempt a conversation w/ a neighbor, or stare out the window. I find myself constantlly trying to become an entertainer--constantly cracking jokes, making emphatic gestures, trying to engage them w/ spectacular Power Point presentations, "dumbing down" my speech to relate to them in colloquial terms-- it's frustrating. If I wanted to be a comedian or an actor, I would have stood in the long lines outside of New York or Hollywood. Instead, I recognized my intellect, insight, and interest in my content area, as well as my ability to share it with others. When did "school teacher' become "stage performer"? These kids don't prefer entertainment-- they demand it. And further, they know their "rights"; that is, they know two things: at the end of the day, 1. their parents have their backs, 2. by proxy, (when the heat gets hot) the administration has their backs. That's it. At one end, we have state regulations crammed down our throat, at the other end, we have parents and a system that's all-too-willing to "cave." Tell me how, in a set-up like that, are you to win hearts and minds?
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Dec 7, 2008, 12:43 AM

Hi, Lance H!