Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    natan123 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 6, 2008, 05:19 PM
    Marriage twice
    I was maried in Texas and I went to vegas to get married even thought I was still married we came back to Texas and than I left to California am I still married to the one in vegas even thought the divorce in Texas happen one year later after I got married in vegas
    asking Posts: 2,673, Reputation: 660
    Ultra Member

Dec 6, 2008, 05:28 PM

Periods between your sentences would make then easier to read and divorces between your marriages would be a good idea too.

I believe that you were never legally married to the Las Vegas woman because you cannot legally get married to a second person if you are still married to the first. If you are legally divorced from the first one (Texas), then I think you are not married to anybody. However, I am not an expert. You should talk to a lawyer. Also, there may be important details you have not mentioned here.
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Dec 7, 2008, 11:47 AM

Yeah sounds like another marriage ceremony would be the solution now that she is legally divorced.
    asking Posts: 2,673, Reputation: 660
    Ultra Member

Dec 7, 2008, 01:07 PM

I was under the impression the OP has parted from the vegas one, too, so no need for a marriage at this time. Right?
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Dec 7, 2008, 01:10 PM

If she is with neither one then I would guess she needs to get the vegas one divorced or annulled as well just so there is no paper work that can be taken as she is or may be married.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 7, 2008, 08:53 PM