Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    anxious_RN Posts: 47, Reputation: 1

Nov 30, 2008, 08:04 PM
    Collecting money for underprivliged kids. I don't know where to start
    I'm not to sure where to post this at, hopefully this is the right forum.

I am wanting to do a volunteering type service where I raise money to be able to buy underprivilaged or disabled children gifts for christmas next year. I don't know where to start? I have never done anything like this before, I'm in nursing school right now with not much money for myself to even get around, and I work a full time job as well. I was thinking I could go door to do asking for donations, but I have no way to prove that the money that I would use would be going towards this and not towards other things as people may wonder. Could I go to hospitals? Or stores? I have absolutley NO idea.. so ANY suggestions, no matter if you think it may not work, will be greatly appreciated. On top of this I would also like to be able to give the parents of these children a gift certificate to a clothing/grocery store so they are set and will have a christmas to remember. Where do I start? Who do I go to? Haha.. I'm so lost on anything I'm supposed to do right now to begin this.. thank you!
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Nov 30, 2008, 08:09 PM

Well first if you are not going to have to claim the money you will need to set up a non profit corporation or find one to work with to have the money donated to. Most of your larger donations will require the non profit status.

And you go to everyone, large business, small business, stores and other groups. Try to be allowed to present a program to employees doing lunch and try to get employees at large places to assist by leading the drive at their location.

You may look at merely working with a dozen or more groups that already do this, Toys for Tots, and most religious groups have some programs as do food banks and others.