Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    wdavishd Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Nov 30, 2008, 06:41 PM
    How to hook up my Satellite and other components
    I am brand new at this so bear with me while I am being stupid. I have an older but very nice Kenwood Receiver, and 3 changer cd, along with a new model Samsung DVD recorder/playback unit, Model # R155. I recently bought a 47" Phillips LCD Flatscreen HD TV, and just had Direct TV hook up a Satellite at my house. The TV has 3 HDMI ports, the Satellite Reciever/DVR has 1 HDMI port and the Samsung DVD Recorder has 1 HDMI port. I want to hook all this equipment together to get the best possible sound and picture that I can. I do realize that I have the old Kenwood Receiver and 3 changer disc player (about 10 years old), but can someone out there give me some details on hooking this all up, and where to start, and what I need to purchase in the line of cables in order to do so. I am, or should I say I used to be pretty electrically inclined, but I haven't been around any of the new type hook ups. The TV is hooked into the satellite and DVR as we speak and I am watching great HD television, but I want to hook up my receiver and CD player to enable me to run it all through these Bose Speakers. Very Confused??
    donf Posts: 5,679, Reputation: 582
    Printers & Electronics Expert

Dec 1, 2008, 08:05 PM
    First you need to determine if the Kenwood unit can handle a Component level input. Does the unit have a HDMI port or 3 vertical RCA ports that are Red - Green - Blue?

If not, then you are dead in the water for Video through the Kenwood.

Audio is still a possibility. Does the Kenwood have a fiber optic input or a coaxial input for the Audio?

If it does, then leave the video connections just the way they are. Route the audio from the Satellite controller to the Kenwood and disable the TV's speakers if you can.