Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    charles1 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 29, 2006, 09:30 AM
    Back pain
    Last few days I had slight back pain (left hand side) I felt while I'm at office some angle while I am trying to turn I felt it. Is it affect of kidney? PLease advise.:mad:
    colbtech Posts: 748, Reputation: 66

Jun 29, 2006, 10:09 AM
    As with all medical problems, "we" can give you best guess and that's all it is. Go see a doctor is the best advice.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Jun 29, 2006, 10:54 AM
    Yes, you may want to go see a doc, best advice we can give, but I will try and help the best I can.

As you see in my signature I am only a nursing student, so in no way am I qualified to diagnose.

It is necessary to know exactly where the pain is: is it near the waist, around the ribcage, up near the shoulder.

Also, is it a stabbing pain, throbbing, or just dull and achy.

This may be nothing more than a pulled muscle or a pinched nerve. How long has this been occurring?

It could be more serious like heart condition or gall bladder. Unless there is fever involved it is not likely kidney.

Please make an appointment with your doctor if this persists more than 2 days.
    Thomas1970 Posts: 856, Reputation: 131

Jun 30, 2006, 06:36 AM
    Hi Charles,
    I agree with the other posts. I myself am a certified massage therapist, and again, in no position to make any sort of diagnosis. There are indeed countless possible causes of the pain you describe, though most of them likely fairly benign. I would venture to guess though it is likely not kidney pain. Kidney pain would be centered most closely under your ribcage, and in fairly close to your spine. Kidney pain though is typically quite intense in nature, and as the previous post states, generally accompanied by a low-grade fever. Ongoing kidney problems are typically accompanied by fatigue, and possible weakness as well.