Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    emk8t Posts: 22, Reputation: 2

Jun 24, 2006, 08:35 PM
    American Heart or Red Cross?
    First of all, I love this site... kudos to the creators...

I am a licensed EMT, and need to get re-certified in everything this year, and I am having a hard time finding an American Heart Association CPR for the Professional Rescuer recertification class that is 1) within 100 miles of my home and 2) not already filled up.

My question is, what is the difference between Red Cross - CPR PRO and AHA CPR for the Professional Rescuer? Anything? The state I am licensed as an EMT through will take either certification... but I just want to know if there is any difference between the two, and also, if I'd have to take the entire Red Cross CPR-PRO class, or if I could just take the (much less expensive and shorter) refresher class, since I don't hold certification through the Red Cross, just American Heart.

Any help would be appreciated! I keep playing phone tag with the folks that could answer my questions... so if anyone here knows... that would be great.

Thanks
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Jun 25, 2006, 07:44 PM
    Here in Tennessee I called my local fire department, they offered the BLS for healthcare providers (American Heart Association) as well as the CPR for the Professional Rescuer (American Red Cross). I will be taking my class for AHA on August 5 for that certification and on August 12 I will be taking the CPR.

I don't know if WI offers it through local fire departments, but it is worth a try. You may also call your local hospital.

Jun 25, 2006, 07:54 PM
    AY! I can barely get the names right. You are correct AHA is BLS for healthcare providers, and the Red Cross is CPR for the professional rescuer. Since posting the original question last night, I found out the main difference is AHA is good for 2 years, and the Red Cross is only good for a year, so most health care providers go with AHA.