Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    C-O-P Posts: 44, Reputation: 0

Nov 11, 2008, 08:00 AM
    Travel while on Parole with newly issued passport
    I am on parole currently. But, I got a passport issued without a problem. Does anyone know if there could be a problem with it if I try to leave the country? What goes on now in the processing at the airport when you leave the country? I have not lefsince 2001 because I was in prison then. Please answer soon!!
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Nov 11, 2008, 08:09 AM
    Hello c:

Well, I'm not sure what those airport cops have on their computer screens. I'll bet they're not playing tetris. So, what ELSE could be on those computer screens. What would YOU like to know about your passengers if YOU were an airport cop?

Well, if I was an airport cop, I'd want to know EVERYTHING about the people who are about to get on an airplane that is MY responsibility to keep safe. Therefore, not knowing WHAT is on their computers (cause I AIN'T an airport cop), I'd say they're going to know about you being on parole...

Now, that may not be true. Actually, it wouldn't surprise me if I found out that the cops WERE playing tetris while they're supposed to be checking stuff out.

But, would I take the chance?? Nahhh... Specially when it's SOOOOOO easy to get a travel permit.

excon

Nov 11, 2008, 08:12 AM

Ex Con - Do PO's actually give permission to travel out of the country? Mine would be hard pressed to give me permission to cross the street with her attitude. Did you ever travel while on parole? Was it Fed or State?
    Uber Member

Nov 11, 2008, 08:27 AM
    Hello c:

Sure. I traveled WHENEVER I found the need. Your PO can't stop you. If you meet the criteria for traveling out of the jurisdiction, then you DO. But, most parolees think the PO can, for any reason, deny them permission to travel...