Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    georgiagirl35 Posts: 20, Reputation: 2

Nov 3, 2008, 09:48 PM
    Could I have to leave my kids in her hands?
    My ex's mother is trying to get visitation rights to my children after failng a full-custody suit from a year and a half ago. She does not have a good track record with my kids safety, let alone rearing her own kids. She tried accuse me of anything she coud to take my kids. None of her false allegations were proven true. The kids have been with me for 3years since I left him, and he spent a year in jail and is now off probation. Does she stand a chance for winning visitation?
    stevetcg Posts: 3,693, Reputation: 353
    Ultra Member

Nov 5, 2008, 01:30 PM

I'm not an expert, but I read a lot. It depends on the state. Some states have provisions for grandparent visitation, some do not.

Do you allow her to visit in your home? That might go a long way in stemming her desire to have take-away visits.

The other thing to consider is even if she doesn't have a case, her son (father of the children) does, which she will very likely use to her advantage.

IMO, if she is doing this out of spite for you then fight her. If she is doing it because she loves your kids... kids cannot have enough people love them.
    asking Posts: 2,673, Reputation: 660
    Ultra Member

Nov 5, 2008, 01:43 PM

I would not recommend visits in your home, as she may collect "evidence" of problems at your house. She could allege that you are a poor housekeeper or that your home is unsafe, etc. Given your history with her, I would avoid that.

But I agree with Stevetcg about visits. I think regular visits would take the teeth out of any claim that she is not allowed to see her grandkids.

What about meeting her with the kids in a neutral place like a park or bakery so she can visit with her grandkids? You can hang back for an hour or so--maybe read a magazine or pay bills nearby-- so she has time with them.