Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    arthurbach4 Posts: 19, Reputation: 1

Nov 3, 2008, 04:21 AM
    Elementary maths exam preparations for adult student.
    I am a teacher candidate at the University of Melbourne and I am studying to be a primary (elementary) school teacher. We have been given a practice maths exam but have not been provided the answers (helpful, wouldn’t you agree?) The following are the 9 questions (out of 40) that I am either unsure about, or simply don’t know how to answer. I was hoping that if someone could provide the odd answer or two (showing their workings) to any of these questions (maybe just copy and paste the questions into a reply?) that I could actually have a chance of passing this thing. You will notice the questions are in metric – I hope this doesn’t freak you out too much!

--------------------

Q1. Small garden gnomes are packed individually in cardboard boxes that are cubes of side length 1 decimeter. They are packed for export in crates that are cubes of edge length 1 meter.

a. How many gnomes can be packed in a crate?
    b. What materials could be used in the primary school classroom to illustrate this problem?
    c. How many crates could be stacked in a space measuring 15 metres by 5 metres and 3 metres high?
    d. Explain why 1 cubic meter is equal to 1000 cubic decimeters

Q2. A teacher needs to order soil for a garden. The garden is a semicircle, with diameter 2.6m and she needs the soil to be 15cm deep.

a. What will it cost if the soil is $45 per cubic metre?
    b. She wants to put a row of bricks around the outside of the whole semicircular garden. How many bricks will she need if the bricks are 24cm long?

Q3. Alice is renovating her spa bath, which is 120cm by 100cm and 60cm deep.

a. The tiles she is using are 5cmx5cm tiles, which come in packets of 100. How many packets will she need to tile the sides and base of the spa?