Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mitchsc Posts: 802, Reputation: 7

Nov 1, 2008, 05:51 PM
    Can't Connect to Internet using Router
    I must have developed a computer curse!

I've been using an older model D-Link wireless router for a few years (802.11g).

Had it connected with ethernet cable to one PC, and wireless to 2 more. The cable connection always worked fine, but had funky connections with the wireless.
    (3Com 3C920 Integrated Fast Ethernet Controller. Driver version 4.5.0.0. Did a driver scan, nothing newer available).

Just bought a new D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme-N Router and matching PCI card.

Now I have great wireless speed, stability, and signal strength, but my PC connected directly to the routher with the ethernet cable has internet connection problems it never had before.

ONLY after bootup, when I open Internet Explorer 7, it won't connect. If I hit refresh (or "try again" in the dialog error box) it always connects.

Once it connects the first time, it always connects after that, even if I close IE7 or put the PC in standby. But of I power off and reboot, it won't connect the 1st time.

Now, if I bypass the router and run the ethernet cable directly from the cable modem to the PC, the problem is gone, and it connects every time.

It seemed like a no-brainer to me that it was the router. So I called D-Link and spoke with 4 different Sr Techs. They swear it is not the router because it does connect okay to my laptop when I plug in the cable (makes some sense I guess). Although I only tried this test once.

They are telling me that it is a problem with either my firewall (not - I turned it off), IE7, or my ethernet controller. They suggested that I reinstall IE7, and "play around" with the ethernet controller settings (which I have no idea how to do, and can't find any info on line about changing these settings).

All that said, does this sound more like a router issue, or a computer issue?

(Sorry for all the background)