Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Scared gota dui Posts: 30, Reputation: 1

Oct 26, 2008, 06:04 AM
    First, and most definitely last, DUI what can I expect?
    Hello cyberspace :(

I recently got a DUI last week. I was wondering what to expect from it. I blew a .095 which is above the limit even if I was 21, I am 19 by the way, so what can I expect as far as punishment? i.e fines, probation, AA counseling, community service etc. I am very scared as of right now and would appreciate any feedback positive or negative. One last thing, except for two expunged traffic tickets (one for seat belt and the other a fix it ticket for an out of date registration sticker), I do not have a criminal record. Will this help at all? God Bless.

P.S I am a college student who is currently un employed will that have a negative/ positive effect on my case?

P.P.S How hard is it to get a basic minimum wage job after receiving a DUI? Also, I was thinking about signing up for the navy will this DUI affect that too?:
    ISneezeFunny Posts: 4,175, Reputation: 821
    Ultra Member

Oct 26, 2008, 06:23 AM

A DUI is a pretty serious offense.

An underage DUI is even a bigger one.

An underage DUI conviction can result in a possible loss of driving privileges for a minimum of 2 years, possible jail time for a year, and a maximum $2500 fine. The judge may also order you to go to AA meetings, driving school, or do community volunteer work.

I suggest you get yourself a good lawyer.

As far as jobs and possible future grad school applications, this will show up on your criminal background check. From what I understand, first time DUI is not a felony (don't quote me on this), but you should fully disclose this information to your future employers and explain your situation and hope they'll look it over.
    Scared gota dui Posts: 30, Reputation: 1

Oct 26, 2008, 06:37 AM