Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    djprofit Posts: 15, Reputation: 2

Oct 23, 2008, 09:02 AM
    I want to enlist but I need to know how to get.
    I want to enlist but I need to know how to get my civilian life in order. I want to know what to do about car payments, student loans, etc. I wanted to go into military service when I graduated out of high school but I was young and unsure now I know that I want to enlist I just don't know what to do about the things I listed above... help!:D
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Oct 23, 2008, 09:43 AM

I don't think enlistng in the military absolves you from your civilian commitments, or necessarily disconnects you. You still have a car payment and payments of your student loan. Can you not pay off both before you join ?
    djprofit Posts: 15, Reputation: 2

Oct 25, 2008, 12:09 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by tickle View Post
    I dont think enlistng in the military absolves you from your civilian commitments, or necessarily disconnects you. You still have a car payment and payments of your student loan. Can you not pay off both before you join ?
    Oh no, that's not what I meant. Let me rephrase, I meant like before I go into the military do I have to pay off all of my loans or can I pay them off while active? Also... I was worried because I don't want to pay for a car that I would barely be using so should I take it back to the dealership or keep paying while active? Thanks for the answer tickle. p.s. I wish I could pay them all off before I go :)
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Oct 25, 2008, 02:53 AM

You can still pay them off while in the military but if you don't want to carry on car payments you will have to sell your car. Good luck.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Oct 25, 2008, 06:13 AM

You can not just take a car back to a dealership.
    ** OK a few buy here/ pay here places may let you