Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    NoWheretoTurn38 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 17, 2008, 08:49 AM
    3 Years of Misery
    Hi Everyone,

I'm a 38 year old mother of 4 children. I have been married for 15 years. Not even sure how this came about, but about 5 years ago I started playing lottery scratch tickets. It was all fun and games at first, but a year later I was heavily into playing them. I became addicted. Blew a ton of our money, but always seemed to keep it covered. However, 3 years ago the real nightmare unfolded. I was caught in a lie that unfolded my addiction by my husband. He was devastated. He couldn't believe that the only woman in the world that he felt he could ever trust had done this to him. Things were really bad for a while. He said he was leaving but stayed for the sake of the children. I have gone to GA but he refused to get any counseling . Over the past 3 years , there were many things catching up as far as collection agencies and old bills that I had screwed up. I have tried to pay things back or I should say , clear up some bills with my "weekly allowance" he gives me. I did not tell him I was doing this not to open up a can of worms and not put any more stress on him. It made me feel better in doing this, but in the end, he found a letter from the collection agency and all hell broke lose again. I am well over my addiction and trying to put it past me, raise 4 children , take care of a home , and deal with the constant mood swings I endure when he comes home from work. I'm constantly standing on eggshells. We speak for a week and then something comes up from 3 years ago regarding my addiction, usually a bill, and then don't speak for 2 weeks. I , in my heart know he is only here for the sake of our children. He can be very mean to me, never was he physical. He is truly a good man, my heart breaks and I have a million regrets for doing what I have done, but I can't change it I know. He has said many a times he wishes he could j