Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    vald76 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Oct 14, 2008, 12:26 PM
    Chicken Stock vs. Chicken Broth?
    Hi, this is my first time asking of you Gentle Folks.

I've recently found the advantage to using canned chicken broth to start my chicken soups and other dishes. However, what's the difference between "chicken stock" and "chicken broth"? It has come up because I have a couple of coupons for Swanson's version of each different type.

So, please, what am I actually getting in each of these categories? Thanks so much.
    wildandblue Posts: 663, Reputation: 57

Oct 14, 2008, 01:47 PM

Chicken broth, you drop a whole cleaned chicken in a big pot with water to cover and boil it a few hours until done, or put it in your crockpot and turn it on and go back in a few hours. You take out the meat and skim off the fat and the liquid left over is chicken broth.
    Chicken stock, you take a leftover cooked chicken carcass (works great with leftover Thanksgiving Turkey) with most of the meat pulled off and boil that, then strain out the bones.
    Both of them are yummy and probably interchangeable in your recipes.
    linnealand Posts: 1,088, Reputation: 216
    Ultra Member

Oct 20, 2008, 06:50 PM

By the way, homemade broths and stocks are relatively inexpensive and very easy to do; they just take time. The results are well worth the effort. You can also make large batches and freeze them into portions. The homemade versions are worlds better than anything you can buy in a can.

If you must use canned, try the boxed versions instead; they're much better.
    vald76 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Oct 24, 2008, 12:23 AM