Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    wluo6129 Posts: 27, Reputation: 1

Oct 7, 2008, 05:40 PM
    Garage door open by itself
    Dear expert:

Recently my garage door has some problem. Sometimes after I pressed the remote to close the garage door, it opened again by itself. I tried to buy another new remote control, but it happened again. But this would not happen if I used the wall-mount unit. Does anyone have any idea about what is wrong and how to fix it? The garage door opener is Craftman, but I am not sure about the model.

Thank you for your assistance!
    hauser5 Posts: 699, Reputation: 92

Oct 7, 2008, 07:25 PM

I am not an expert on this at all, but I would have to think that perhaps a neighbor, using a code reader when you open it, is getting your code and opening it as a prank, or maybe it's a thief? (I hope not) I assume that a wall-mounted unit is not wireless, and does not transmit a signal through the air, right?
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Oct 7, 2008, 07:44 PM

Check the electric eyes at the bottom of the door. That is the safety feature that keeps the door from closing on a child or other person. There has to be a clear line of sight between the two receptors on each side of the door near the floor. If not the door receives a signal not to close.

Oct 8, 2008, 05:52 AM
    Hi, smearcase and hauser5:

First, thank you for your answer on this.

The wall unit is not wireless. This never happened before but just recently. It is not theft, either, since nothing is lost (Thank God!! ). But it is unsecure!

I am not sure are there electric eyes available for the garage door, since it is pretty old (probable more than 10 years). But I will double check.

If it is something too sensitive or similar code with my neighbor's door opener, anyway to fix it? (the opener has the smart learn feature instead of DIP switch).

Thanks!
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert