Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mshev Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Oct 2, 2008, 02:47 PM
    Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of happiness, right?
    Ok, the bail out bill has my panties in a twist so to speak. I'm 37. I work part time. I have two children. My husband and I work. We work allot. We sacrifice. The "experts" say the 7 billion dollar bail out plan is necessary or there will be a "credit crisis".

This leaves me confused. "Credit crisis"? Why are people living off credit? Why is Credit the key to our economy? When did "living with in your means" become an outdated idea? I've never had a car loan. I've never taken out a loan for a TV, or a Vacation, or a nifty new Jacuzzi. I do have a mortgage, just one, the only one that I've been paying faithfully for 10 years. Do I have some nice thing? Yes, but we save, and we save and we sacrifice a few things here and there. We skip vacations, and don't go out to eat, we buy in the bargain bin if we have to in order to purchase or invest in something we want. We wait till we have earned enough money to buy the "extras" and still pay our bills.

This does not seem to be the norm. Many people I know don't do this. They refinance their homes over and over again so they can have vacations and nifty cars, and the newest techno gadget. I understand the temptation; I get the calls, the offers in the mail? They all claim to want to lend me huge amounts of money I know I can't pay back. Ok, I get it. I understand that many people have given in to this temptation. What I don't understand is the overwhelming feeling that I get where it seems that today it's not just the ability to pursue happiness that people want, they expect it, demand it, whether it's earned or not.