Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    4Bunny Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 25, 2008, 02:48 PM
    Credit Repair Companies
    Do you recommend using a credit repair company and paying them to help clear up your credit report; or, try going it alone if you have the means to settle with some of the companies? It has been over the usual 180 days and most or charged off or given to collection agencies.
    DrJ Posts: 1,328, Reputation: 339
    Ultra Member

Sep 25, 2008, 04:00 PM

The answer depends 100% on your aptitude for this kind of thing AND the integrity of the credit repair company you choose to use.

I have tackled this on my own but I work in the industry and had some knowledge on how to accomplish it.

It is not that general of knowledge to do it right... that's why not everyone does it.

If you have outstanding debt, you will want to make sure you follow certain steps in order to negotiate it and make it go away, without getting ripped off from the creditor/collection agency (which happens ALL the time) and you will want to negotiate the best possible deal for you! Are you sure you know how to do that?

Also, you will want to make as much of the negative marks that are on your credit go away (late payments, charge-offs, collection accounts, etc). If you do this wrong, it could result in the permanence of said marks and all hope would then be lost for the next 7 years. Are you sure you know the proper way to do this?

If you said yes to both, then save your money and do it yourself! If not, you may want to either research the proper was to do these things or hire someone to do them for you.
    mike_edwards Posts: 23, Reputation: 1

Nov 15, 2008, 12:21 PM

First credit repair companies are not debt consolidation compaanies they are two different things.

Repair companies are not even legal in all states, since many do a lot of fraud. They merely try to challenge things on your report to get it off the report.
    ASKnRECIEVE Posts: 9, Reputation: 1