Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    amsurfer Posts: 1, Reputation: 2

May 20, 2006, 12:19 AM
    Where shall I buy online and what brand
    Its very interesting I have been using an automatic Nikon D-200 camera, that I purchased online from Microglobe- retailer of photographic equipment in London UK, result is excellent, but someone advised me to check manual one, and it would return you better result than automatic, I am confused, is it true? I shot nature… yea I love cameras for there is a very famous notion about: The camera is an instrument that teaches people how to see without a camera.( Dorothea Lange )
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

May 20, 2006, 04:09 AM
    Hi, amsurfer,
    Welcome to the site, and thanks for asking a question here.
    I am not a Professional photographer, but at 64 yrs old, have owned many different cameras, including the digital Nikon cool pix 880, the cool pix 4460, and the older type Nikon 35 mm Photomic T. The two digital cameras also have manual setting to use, as well as automatic. The 35 mm was also both auto and manual.
    You can find digital cameras that will use auto settings, as well as being able to use them manually, setting your own f-stops and speeds.
    Manual use can produce many more settings than automatic. You can choose your lighting, your speed, f-stops, and depth of field.
    Normally, manual settings can produce "better" pics than using auto, if you have shot many pictures manually, getting to know what the different settings do; and how they affect the picture.
    Sunsets, nature scenes, can be better manually; if you have practiced some.
    I do wish you the best.
    PS; check your cameras manual, and see if you can switch it to manual!
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

May 20, 2006, 05:03 AM