Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    SCOTTYLAWLER Posts: 1, Reputation: 2

May 8, 2006, 10:05 PM
    Personal property lifes work
    I fell on hard times and needed some quick cash for girlfriend.. I used to be a pro wrestling photographer.. I told my good friend I would give him all my photos like 8000 of them and told him to pick 500 of them and give me 300 dollars and I also gave him about 6000 negatives as well and told hime he could copy those.. and in a month I would come back down to Cincinnati to get my photos back and my 100 dollars he owed me.. 2 years later he never gave me my photos back or my negatives back.. he says they are now his? He has ripped me off he changed his number and moved.. he stole my stuff and won't give it back.. I trusted him and he conned me... :( what can I do.. I had no written agreement only verbal.. but I do have 2 witnesses.. can I sue him? Or what.. please I need advice
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

May 9, 2006, 03:31 AM
    So do you envision this a "broken verbal contract" issue or a theft issue? Depending on which, you may be beyone the statute of limitations. Also, you'll need to confirm whether verbal contracts are enforceable in your state.

What state are you in?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

May 9, 2006, 06:57 PM
    As noted, there is a time limit to file both criminal charges and/or law suits.

But the place to start would be to get an estimate that can be proved in court for the value of the photos and negitives that you gave him.

Then deduct what he paid, and sue for the balance of the value of all of the material he has. ( you have to sue for the money although you can settle latter for so much money plus the return of the material)
    But the actual law suit has to be for the value.

You will have to prove the value of the photo's, and prove you had an agreement with this person. Verbal is harder but can be done