Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

May 5, 2006, 07:47 AM
    Cheating
    Hello:

I am an architect. My doctor tells me that there's a drug that will make me a better architect. If I take it, will that be cheating?

excon
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

May 5, 2006, 08:14 AM
    Hi,
    I had high blood pressure, and high cholesterol. The doctor has had me on medications for years now, with all those under control and normal. Does that make me a "cheating" person? no.
    Some medications, as well as some herbs (or so they say), increase the brain's capacity to think. I think that's great!
    No, I don't see you cheating at all, using your brain to even more of it's potential.
    If it means using muscle to more advantage, making you a super-human, running over others at Baseball, Football, etc, that is different.
    But I've never heard of anyone complain about having the brain think more.
    PS; I would get a second opinion about this drug, see what another doctor thinks.
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

May 5, 2006, 08:18 AM
    Are you joshin' us excon? ;)

... wait a minute, I do think I recall now. It's not a drug, but I've heard that smoking banana peels helps draftsmen. Is that close enough? :p

What drug did the dr. refer to?
    Uber Member

May 5, 2006, 08:38 AM
    Hello rick:

Yeah, I’m joshin. But the question I asked is real.

No, there isn’t yet a drug that will make me a better architect, but there will be. And, if it’s not a drug, maybe it will be chip that’s implanted or new genes injected. I don’t know how people will be enhanced in the future, but there’s no question that they will be.

So, the question I have remains, is any enhancement cheating? How should the law deal with this issue, now and in the future?