Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jnvlv247 Posts: 68, Reputation: 1

May 2, 2006, 07:08 PM
    Contacts
    Hi, I am 16 years old and my parents think Im mature enough to handel contacts, but I have an astigmatism and I know there are contacts for that but what are they exactly and what does the doctor do when you go to get them? Also I have black hair and pretty dark brown eyes and I wanted to get colored contacts, what's the best color, how is different than others? Thanks?
    jduke44 Posts: 407, Reputation: 44

May 2, 2006, 07:40 PM
    I am not an expert but I found a couple websites that might help you out.

What is Astigmatism? Answers from ACUVUE® ADVANCE™ Brand Contact Lenses for ASTIGMATISM.

Eye Doctor Q and A - Contact Lenses for Astigmatism - AllAboutVision.com

You can Google the question on the internet and maybe get more of an answer than these.

Hope this helps.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

May 3, 2006, 04:06 AM
    HI,
    Doing research on the web can get you many answers, as previously said.
    The Eye Doctor would be the best person to answer all your questions. You could have the eye exam, talk with him/her about it, then make up your mind later, about specifics for the lens. I am sure the Doc can give you some good suggestions as to color, etc, that would enhance your beauty. I do wish you the best of luck.
    PS; I've never tried contacts, but now at 64, wear trifocal glasses. Started wearing glasses many years ago.
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

May 3, 2006, 05:10 AM
    The doctor will be able to confirm if your astigmatism is minor enough to be able to use contacts at all.

Once that's confirmed, he'll then confirm which brands make contacts for your astigmatism and prescription. If colored ones are available for your prescription then it's completely up to you - and the Dr. can even give you some samples of colored lenses.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056