Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mjmooney Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Sep 1, 2008, 11:29 AM
    Installing Light-Fan Dimmer Switch
    I have a ceiling fan and recessed lights in my living room, whenturning on the light switch everything comes on. I purchased a dimmer switch to control lights and ceiling fan separate. I have some electrical knowledge, but I guess not enough, Please help. Thanks
    ceilingfanrepair Posts: 5,733, Reputation: 109
    Uber Member

Sep 1, 2008, 01:17 PM
    You will probably have to run additional wires for this-- how many wires are at the switch?

Sep 1, 2008, 01:49 PM
    Well I have a Red feed wire on the bottom, and a black wire going out at the top of the switch. There is 4 sets of wires coming into the box for 2 switchs, 1 switch controls ceiling fan and recessed lights, other controls outside light. All 4 white wires are nutted together, black wire from outside light comes to top of right switch, black wire on bottom coming from pigtail for out side light. There is one group of wires coming in black, white , bare, on this one black goes to pigtail of black wires, white goes to pigtail of white wires, nothing directly to any switch. Other wires coming in consist of a set black, red, white, with red going to left switch bottom, black to black pigtail, and white to white pigtail. With 1 set of wires coming in white, black ,bare, White running to white pigtail, black to top left switch.
    Uber Member

Sep 1, 2008, 02:28 PM
    The two wires that go to the fan/light switch, do they connect to any other wires within the box?

Sep 2, 2008, 02:31 AM
    The red wire appears to be a feed wire coming from a wire coming into the junction box from the bottom, the black wire appears to be power wire going to ceiling, to answer your question though, the strand of wires the red one comes out of the black wire off that same leg appears to feed the other switch in the junction box.
    donf Posts: 5,679, Reputation: 582