Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    christinewest-stephen Posts: 35, Reputation: 1

May 2, 2006, 02:36 PM
    Sunburn
    Tell me what you think...

My boyfriend is out in the sun most of the day, from around 11 until about 4.
    How long do you think is too long? and how long until he gets skin cancer?
    I try to tell him everyday that its not good for him but he just won't listen. Any advice?
    educatedhorse_2005 Posts: 500, Reputation: 78

May 2, 2006, 06:06 PM
    Not everybody get skin cancer.
    Personally I would rather be outside then inside.
    When I was going to college I was a roofer during the summer and we would work outside all day every day 12-14 hour days.
    I did this for 4 years no skin cancer or problems.
    Stormy69 Posts: 290, Reputation: 98

May 2, 2006, 11:47 PM
    Very simply, sunburn and UV light can damage your skin, and this damage can lead to skin cancer. There are of course other determining factors, including your heredity and the environment you live in. However, both the total amount of sun received over the years, and overexposure resulting in sunburn can cause skin cancer. Most people receive 80% of their lifetime exposure to the sun by 18 years of age.
    Tanning is your skin's response to UV light. It is a protective reaction to prevent further injury to your skin from the sun. However, it does not prevent skin cancer.
    Remember, skin cancer is very slow to develop. The sunburn you receive this week may take 20 years or more to become skin cancer.
    If there is a history of skin cancer in your family, you are probably at a higher risk. People with fair skin, with a northern European heritage appear to be most susceptible.