Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    catgirlalex1 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Aug 25, 2008, 12:36 AM
    Aspiring Professional Photographer
    Hi
    I'm an aspiring pro photographer looking to take photos of wildlife and nature. I've been wanting to get a job with National Geographic Magazine ever since I can remember. I have many achievements behind me. I was wondering if anyone had any advice on what I would need to do and how much I would need to do in order to be recognized bye a good photographic school and, eventually, National Geographic. I would also like to know what brand and type of digital SLR camera would work best for me including what lenses. I can't go travel to many places so I don't have many astounding places and things to photograph at the moment.

Aug 25, 2008, 12:40 AM
    One other question, how would I go about assembling a portfolio?
    jcdill Posts: 249, Reputation: 24

Aug 25, 2008, 08:07 AM
    The first thing is to recognize is that beautiful photos can be made right where you are - you don't need to travel to take noteworthy photos. You also don't need a special type of camera, or lens. Today's point-n-shoot cameras often have most of the features found in the DSLRs - including the ability to shoot in AV, TV, Manual modes, and to save your files in RAW. Until you have exhausted all the options available in a point-n-shoot camera, and have learned how to take amazing photos of things near you, it would be a waste of money to buy a DSLR or to spend money to travel to get nature and wildlife photos. If you don't yet have a point-n-shoot camera, get one of the Canon models that lets you load a hacked firmware that opens up more features.

You can even get amazing photos with a camera-phone. See:

Capture Winning Street Scenes with a Camera Phone - - PopPhotoJuly 2007