Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    chained_to_the_wind's Avatar
    chained_to_the_wind Posts: 11, Reputation: 4
    New Member
     
    #1

    Apr 24, 2006, 10:05 AM
    Dhtml menus
    Good Day,

    I am trying to create a horizontal menu at the top of the page which is going to need 3 levels.

    Something like the scripting (I think its java) in the link below is totally perfect for what it needs, but it opens up its links in a new page of internet explorer! And I try and change that by looking at the coding behind it... which is just baffling to me, I have no idea how to make it open in the same page!

    http://www.bodurov.com/menu/

    The page I'm working on requires a menu at the top just to alter a query at the end of the url, to query a database, so needs to open up variations of the same page not in new windows. It uses cold fusion which I've got into dreamweaver which is working, so if anyone has ideas, the page is in Dreamweaver 8 now..

    If anyone could help, I would be massively grateful

    Kind regards

    Diane
    Xxx
    LTheobald's Avatar
    LTheobald Posts: 1,051, Reputation: 127
    Ultra Member
     
    #2

    Apr 25, 2006, 02:07 AM
    The code that you linked to creates new menu's using the following syntax:
    Code:
    mc.Add("Yahoo","http://yahoo.com","_blank");
    The "_blank" part is what opens the links in new pages. If you want the page to open in the current page, use something like the following:
    Code:
    mc.Add("Yahoo","http://yahoo.com","");

    There are better ways of doing these menu's though that you might want to look into. Here's the first one I found: http://www.csscreator.com/menu/multimenu.php . It keeps the HTML nice and simple which makes the page more accesible for everyone.
    chained_to_the_wind's Avatar
    chained_to_the_wind Posts: 11, Reputation: 4
    New Member
     
    #3

    Apr 25, 2006, 05:56 AM
    Lovely I am just so warmed by your reply and this help desk.. people HELP each other!! Its so simple but so good.. fantastic.. I'm going to work.. to try it now.. I'll write later and let you know..

    God Bless You..

    Love chained to the wind
    LTheobald's Avatar
    LTheobald Posts: 1,051, Reputation: 127
    Ultra Member
     
    #4

    Apr 25, 2006, 06:12 AM
    Glad to help :D If it doesn't work, post back and we'll see what we can do.
    van1976's Avatar
    van1976 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1
    New Member
     
    #5

    Sep 14, 2009, 02:14 AM
    DHTML javaScript

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

 

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.



View more questions Search