Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rahul_koduru Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Aug 19, 2008, 11:56 AM
    1099 contractor position in F1 status
    Hi,
    I'm a masters student in F-1 status. I was offered an 1099 contractor internship position in May 2008. I got my CPT authorization from Office of International Education (OIE) to work from May 2008 to Dec 2008 (which includes my allowed two semesters of CPT). After working for 3 months now, one of my school's payroll employee mentioned to me I can't work as a 1099 contractor position under F-1 status. She said it's a technical immigration violation. She also mentioned it might pose problems when I go for my H1-B or Green card. I'm still working at the company. I'm not sure what I should do? Can you guys please suggest something.
    Thanks

Rahul

Aug 19, 2008, 11:56 AM
    1099 contractor position in F1 status
    Hi,
    I'm a masters student in F-1 status. I was offered an 1099 contractor internship position in May 2008. I got my CPT authorization from Office of International Education (OIE) to work from May 2008 to Dec 2008 (which includes my allowed two semesters of CPT). After working for 3 months now, one of my school's payroll employee mentioned to me I can't work as a 1099 contractor position under F-1 status. She said it's a technical immigration violation. She also mentioned it might pose problems when I go for my H1-B or Green card. I'm still working at the company. I'm not sure what I should do? Can you guys please suggest something.
    Thanks

Rahul
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 19, 2008, 03:02 PM
    Posts merged, please do not ask the same question more than once

Aug 26, 2008, 07:25 AM
    Hi, Can someone please suggest something.
    Thanks
    lawanwadee Posts: 3,653, Reputation: 124
    Immigration Expert

Aug 26, 2008, 11:35 AM