Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jivejcat Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 7, 2003, 11:53 AM
    Non-resident fees
    Hello.  I am a student and an aspiring seasoned traveler.  The only problem?  I cannot afford to pay non-resident fees every time I want to move out of a state. Any suggestions on how to get around this?  Financial aide I can apply for?  If not, become a resident? Please help!! Thank you for your time.
    juanruiz Posts: 16, Reputation: 1

Jun 18, 2003, 12:33 PM
    Non-resident fees
    I'm not sure you can get around this one. Since public universities are partially funded by states, the feelling in non-residents, i.e.. non-taxpayers, should pay a larger percentage of the cost. Generally, you can declare residency after 1 year. Talk to the financial aid people, they may have some deal they can offer.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Filing as resident or non resident? [ 1 Answers ]

Hello, I am a bit confused on what forms to use to file my taxes. I have been in US since August 2003. Till November 14, 2005, I was on F-1 visa and since then I am on H1B visa. I believe that I can use the First year choice and file as a resident in 2005, if I am resident in 2006. For...

Part time resident or non-resident for state tax form? [ 3 Answers ]

:( hi, I was on F1 visa in Texas till the month of September. Then moved to North carolina in October to work on OPT till December. So I am still eligible to fill the 1040NR-EZ form. But my confusion is the state tax form since for Texas I did not have to fill one. And now in the D400 state tax...

Status as resident / non - resident [ 1 Answers ]