Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    reginadiggins Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Aug 12, 2008, 08:45 AM
    Underpaid with an MBA in Accounting
    I am very upset and angry. I graduated with an MBA in Accounting in 2003 and I landed at this company in March of 2006 and I have not been able to get away from here. I've sent out resumes went on interviews and here I still sit. What makes it worse it my "boss" is 4 years younger than me and we graduated from the same MBA program, the same day, time and year. Here is the horror story... I am only making $38K and she makes $85K. To add insult to injury, a new contract was obtained and I was verbally promised that I would be moving up with more money. How about she recruited and hired someone from the outside and paid her $60K and this same woman has now been offered a management position. Needless to say she came in and thoroughly impressed everyone with her wonderful spreadsheets that she "borrowed" from another company with the help of a jump drive. I am so frustrated and the job market is very tough right now because believe me, I've been looking high and low. I've asked for a raise but my manager blocks it at every turn and she sabotages my work. Also, the mailhouse coordinator has NO DEGREE and he makes the same amount as me. I am angry and I can no longer hide my frustration. Is there anything I can do to force my employer to pay me what I'm worth since they take great pride and overpaying people who are less qualified and less educated!!
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 12, 2008, 09:28 AM
    No, you can quit, or find a job somewhere else. It appears they either don't like you, or believe you work is not up to management par for some reason.
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Aug 14, 2008, 01:31 AM