Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nate0902 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 9, 2008, 01:19 PM
    Drove Truck 1000 Miles Without Oil Cap
    I recently had my oil changed at Wal-Mart and they left my oil cap off. I did not realize this until I drove to Arizona from Colorado towing a Honda Prelude. Granted my truck has 170,000 but I was the original owner and never had to do any major engine repair. I took my truck to the shop because it was acting funny and they replaced the PCV Valve, plugs, coil wires, and distributor cap. After all this I was still having trouble starting my truck. After a few weeks of them not finding the problem my engine light came on, cylinder 2 misfire. They are telling me that I need a complete engine rebuild, is there any chance that this is from driving my truck without the oil cap?
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Aug 9, 2008, 03:31 PM
    I did that too but for only half as many miles. I'm not an expert but unless it were in very dirty, dusty conditions, or if some freak object bounced into the opening, I don't think it would cause much damage.
    CaptainRich Posts: 4,492, Reputation: 537
    Cars & Trucks Expert

Aug 9, 2008, 06:08 PM
    I would say that without the oil cap in place the worst that could happen would be some oil could blow out. Did you see any signs or get a low oil warning light?
    There is often some type of baffle inside the valve cover that is intended to prevent anything too large from entering the crankcase, however, I don't know what you're driving so I can't say for certain...
    Any starting problem would likely turn out to be either battery/starter issue, or fuel delivery related concern. A misfire on a single cylinder should be readily diagnosed by a competent tech with the vehicle right in front of him or her.
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member

Aug 11, 2008, 02:36 PM