Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Stubits Posts: 390, Reputation: 2

Aug 5, 2008, 07:32 PM
    Corner Kitchen Cabinet
    I am planning a small kitchenette for my basement and would like to install a standard kitchen cabinet (18"W x 24"D x 34.4"H) in the corner. Does anyone have any experience doing this? Any suggestions on how best to pull this off? I know that I will end up with a decent amount of "dead" space (I am OK with that).

I am relatively new to cabinet installation, but the questions that come to my mind are:

1) how do I make sure that the cabinet is centered in the corner, given that it will not butt up to the wall.

2) what sort of supports will I need to build in to properly support the cabinet given that it will not butt up against the wall

3)how do I connect the "corner" cabinet to the adjoining cabinets?

Thanks!
    WVHiflyer Posts: 384, Reputation: 34

Aug 5, 2008, 07:43 PM
    I can't help with your questions, but have a suggestion: You might avoid the 'dead space' by installing a cabinet-sized, 2-3 tier 'lazy susan' in a corner cab...

Aug 5, 2008, 07:47 PM
    Thanks so much for the suggestion. I am not all that concerned about the lost space. I would just like to have a sink in the corner.

Aug 5, 2008, 08:00 PM
    Here is a photo of the look I am trying to attain, as well as a tape outline of what I am looking to do. I am on my Mac at home and don't have any software to draw up a quick design, but basically, I would like to mount a standard 18" base cabinet in the corner. I am not concerned about the lost space. I like the look and the feel of having a flat cabinet in the corner as opposed to a traditional corner cabinet unit.

The tape diagram isn't very clear, but from left to right,
    1) floor to ceiling pantry (18" wide)
    2)Refrigerator
    3) 15" cabinet
    4) 18" standard cabinet in corner
    5) 15" cabinet
    6) stove (20")
    Attached Images

hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899