Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    gilda102 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Aug 1, 2008, 08:34 AM
    SUMIF with 2 criteria
    Hello All,
    I'm relatively new to using functions in excel and I'm sure my problem is really very simple but I am having a hard time figuring it out. I want to use the SUMIF function to total column C but only if column A=4012 and if column B=UK.

A B C
    G/L Code Solic. Gift
    4011 PE $100.00
    4010 UK $75.00
    4012 UK $200.00

I keep getting a #VALUE error when I try to add the second criteria.
    Thanks for any help on this.
    JBeaucaire Posts: 5,426, Reputation: 997
    Software Expert

Aug 1, 2008, 10:26 AM
    Code:
    =SUMPRODUCT((A2:A100=4012)*(B2:B100="UK")*(C2:C100))
    JBeaucaire Posts: 5,426, Reputation: 997
    Software Expert

Aug 1, 2008, 10:31 AM
    If the list is a growing list, you can NAME the data fields to make your formula easier to understand and self-adjust:

Highlight all the A column EXCEPT the title cell, then type PLCode in the Name box just above the A row. Repeat for the B row, except name it Solic. Name the C row Gift. Remember to NOT include the title row.

Now the formula can be changed to this and it reads like a sentence:
    Code:
    =SUMPRODUCT((PLCode=4012)*(Solic="UK")*(Gift))
    Attached Images

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Criteria of Comparable worth. [ 2 Answers ]

Is criteria of comparable worth an appropriate form of remedy?

Criteria for becoming bonded [ 4 Answers ]

I was recently asked on an application if I was able to be bonded. I wanted to know What types of offenses would stop a person from becoming bonded? Do you have to be convicted of the crime and does traffic violations count?

Criteria for being bondable [ 2 Answers ]